ABOUT US

The Livery Companies of the City of London started as Craft Guilds, originally for social and religious interchange including the welfare of their members. This role expanded to include the training, standards, practices, qualifications and promotion of their trades. The Guild of St George of the Armourers was instituted by an ordinance of the City of London in 1322 which laid down the regulations for the trade. King Henry VI awarded the first Royal Charter in 1543 and in 1708 Queen Anne presented the current Charter. This gave the Brasiers, workers in brass and copper who had long been involved with the Company, equal status with the Armourers. Since the industrial revolution in the 19th Century, the main focus of the Company has been charitable, concentrating primarily, but not exclusively, on supporting education and research in metallurgy and materials science. College

Click here for more information

ARMOURERS' HALL

The Company has used the current site for its gatherings since 1346 when it was an inn known as 'the Dragon and Five Shoppes'. The Company acquired the freehold in 1424 when it was reconfigured and renamed Armourers' Hall. This included an armoury to provide weapons for the defence of this part of the City. The Hall survived the Great Fire of 1666, which was halted a few yards to the south by a combination of good fortune and the efforts of the people of Coleman Street Ward. In 1795 the Hall was extended to take on the corner site of Coleman Street and London Wall. It was completely rebuilt in 1839 to become the beautiful listed building to be seen today with its stunning blend of 16th and 17th Century armour, weapons and paintings. The Company hires out the various rooms and it is a superb, historic and unique location for any function or event. 

Click here for more information